Fast Facts

Chancellor: Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D.

Enrollment (Fall 2020): 4,247 students

Employees (June 2020): 5,708 (4,913.5 FTE)

Operating Budget (2020-2021): $774 million (21 percent state-supported)

Research Grants (2019-2020): $174.2 million 

Founded: 1881. Originally the Omaha Medical College, the college became affiliated with the University of Nebraska in 1902.

Major Units: College of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, College of Dentistry, College of Public Health, College of Allied Health Professions, Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases, Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center, Munroe-Meyer Institute, Stanley M. Truhlsen Eye Institute, and a graduate studies program.

University of Nebraska: The University of Nebraska Medical Center is one of four campuses of the University of Nebraska, which is led by President Walter "Ted" Carter, Jr. The other campuses are: the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL), the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) and the University of Nebraska at Kearney (UNK). The University of Nebraska is supervised by an eight-member Board of Regents

Economic Impact: UNMC and its hospital partner, Nebraska Medicine, have an annual impact of $4.8 billion.