About the Department

image1 image2 image3

History of the Department

University Hospital Unit I was opened in 1917 and provided a facility for x-ray examinations.  The x-ray facility was under the supervision of James. S. McAvin, MD who was also in charge of the drug room and anesthesiology.  In 1927 Unit II was added expanding the hospital to 240 beds and the x-ray facility was moved to the ground floor.  Dr. Carlton B. Pierce was appointed Chairman of the Department until 1930 when  Dr. Howard B. Hunt was appointed Chairman.  At that time, the department was staffed entirely by part-time and volunteer faculty.  Today the radiology department faculty includes 20 full-time radiologists, 8 part-time radiologists, 4 fellows, and 4 full-time physicists. 

Past Chairman include:

  • Craig W. Walker, M.D. (2000-present)
  • David Stark, M.D. (1996-2000)
  • Thomas J. Imray, M.D. (1982-1996)
  • Charles A. Dobry, M.D.(1981-82)
  • Harold A. Baltaxe, M.D. (1976-81)
  • William J. Wilson, M.D. (1968-76)
  • Paul M. St. Aubine, M.D. (1963-65)
  • Howard B. Hunt, M.A., M.D. (1930-63; 1965-68)
  • Carlton B. Pierce, M.D. (1927-30)

 The radiology department performs 250,000 exams on average per year.

State-of-the-art equipment includes:

  • Four  CT Scanners: Two GE 16-Slice, GE 64-Slice, and Siemens 2-Slice
  • Four MRI Scanners:  Philips 3T, Philips 1.5T, GE 3T, and GE 1.5T
  • One PET/CT Scanner:  GE Discovery with 64-Slice CT
  • Five Interventional Radiology/Angiography rooms: Two Siemens Single Plane Angiography, Two Philips Bi-Plane Neuroangiography with CT, and Philips Single Plane Angio with CT