Graduate Students



In the News
Former INBRE students and now graduate student Emily Harrison and former graduate student Jessica Hutter-Saunders, are featured in the October 2011 issue of INROADS.  

INBRE or the Institutional Development Award Program (IDeA) Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence, provides research opportunities for undergraduate students.  The INBRE program is supported by a $17.2 million National Institutes of Health Grant.


Current students

Fadhel Al-Omar

Fadhel Al-Omar
Dr. Keshore Bidasee's lab
BS, Pharmaceutical Sciences
King Saud University

falomar@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Neuropharmacology
  • Drug discovery to treat degenerative brain diseases.

 Hassan_Alsaad

Hassan Alsaad
Dr. Keshore Bidasee's lab
Pharm. D., Pharmacy
King Faisal University

hassan.alsaad@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Pharmacology
  • Immunology

 
Kristi Anderson

Kristi Anderson
Dr. R. Lee Mosley's lab

BS, Biology, Midland University, Fremont, NE

kristi.anderson@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Neurodegeneration
  • Neuroinflammation
  • Immunology

Aditya Bade

Aditya Bade
Dr. Yutong Liu and Dr. Howard E. Gendelman

BS, Pharmacy, BAMU-University, India
Student Spotlight - Meet Aditya Bade

aditya.bade@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Medical Imaging
  • Neurodegenerative Disorders
  • Immunohistochemistry

Megan_Bosch_2012 

Megan Bosch
Dr. Tammy Kielian's lab
BS, Biology, Creighton University

megan.bosch@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Brain Development
  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Neural HIV

Ariel Burns

Ariel Burns
Dr. Pawel Ciborowski's lab 

BS, Biochemistry
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

ariel.burns@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Biochemical functions altered in the brain by diseases like multiple sclerosis and Parkinson's disease
  • Targeted drug delivery and its mechanisms  

 


Yu_Cai

Yu Cai
Dr. Shilpa Buch's lab

BM, Clinical Medicine, Shanghai Jio Tong University, Shanghai, China

yu.cai@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • HIV drug abuse in the central nervous system

Minghui Chen

Minghui Chen
Dr. Wally Thoreson's lab 

Bachelor and Master Degree of Medicine
Central South University, Changsha, China

mchen@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Mechanisms of drug abuse

Qiang Chen

Qiang Chen
Dr. Jialin Zheng's Lab
MSIA

Bachelor of Medicine, Shandong University, China, 2007

qche1@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Neurodegenerative Disorders

Xingcheng_Chen

Xingcheng Chen
Dr. Shilpa Buch's Lab

BS, Central South University, Changsha, China

chen.xingcheng@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Cardiovascular pharmacology
  • Drug abuse
  • Genetic pharmacology

Karlene Cork

Karlene Cork
Dr. Wallace Thoreson Lab

BA, Carleton College, 2009

kmcork@unmc.edu

Research interests:

  • Treatment of neurodegenerative disorders

Nicholas_DeKorver2013

Nicholas W. DeKorver
Dr. Stephen Bonasera's lab
MD/PhD student

BS, Biomedical Science and Neuroscience, Central Michigan University

nicholas.dekorver@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Mechanisms of Neural Aging and Synapse Regulation
  • Neurodegeneration

Adrian Epstein

Adrian Epstein
Dr. Michael Boska's lab and
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab
MD/PhD student

BA, St. Louis University 2003
MA, Washington University, St. Louis, 2008

aepstein@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Brain subregion profiling of neuropathology linked to metabolic encephalopathy in the murine model of HIV-associated neurocognitive disorders (HAND)

 


Danielle (Danni) Fenster

Danielle (Danni) Fenster
Dr. Howard Fox Lab

BS, Biochemistry/Molecular Biology, Nebraska Wesleyan University 2009

dfenster@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Repair mechanisms of the CNS including neuroprogenitor cell proliferation and differentiation

 
Emily Harrison

Emily Harrison
Dr. Howard Fox laboratory 

BS, Biotechnology, University of Nebraska Omaha 2011

emily.harrison@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Neurodegeneration

 Nicole (Nicky) Haverland

Nicole (Nicky) Haverland
Dr. Pawel Ciborowski's lab

BA, Biology and Chemistry, Minnesota State University, Morehead

nhaverland@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Proteomics and neuroinflammatory diseases

James_Hilaire

James Hilaire
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab

BA,Psychology, Rutgers University

james.hilaire@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Nanomedicine
  • Targeted Drug Delivery
  • HIV

Ibrahim Mohammad

Ibrahim M. Ibrahim, MD

King Abdulaziz University, Saudi Arabia

ibrahim.ibrahim@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Nanomedicine
  • Targeted cancer chemotherapy

Lisa Kosloski

Lisa Kosloski
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab 

BA, Human Biology, University of Kansas

lkosloski@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Nanomedicine-based drug delivery systems for the treatment of Parkinson's Disease

Max Kuenstling

Max Kuenstling
Dr. R. Lee Mosley's laboratory

BA, Biochemistry and Biology, Wartburg College, Iowa

mkuenstling@unmc.edu

 

Research Interests:

  • Neuroinflammation, immunization strategies and T cell involvement in Parkinson's disease 

Tianyuzi Li

Tianyuzi Li
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab 

BS, Pharmacy

tianyuzi.li@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Proteomics

Weizhe_Li

Weizhe Li
Dr. Larisa Poluektova's and Dr. Howard Gendelman's labs

MD, Neuroscience

weizhe.li@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Neurodegenerative disorders

Han_Liu_2012

Han Liu
Dr. Huangui Xiong's lab

Bachelor of Medicine, Xinxiang Medical College, China

han.liu@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Ion channel processes in neuron degenerative diseases
  • White matter injury in HIV-associated dementia

Andrea Martinez-Skinner

Andrea Martinez-Skinner
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab 

BS, Mathematics; Professional Chemistry
University of Nebraska at Kearney

amartinezskinner@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Nanomedicine, antiretroviral drug formulations, HIV, nanotechnology

Katherine_Olson

Katherine Olson
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab

BS, Biology, University of Northern Iowa

katherine.olson@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Neurodegeneration
  • Immunomodulation
  • Regulatory T Cells

Brendan_Ottemann

Brendan Ottemann
Dr. Howard Fox's lab

BS, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

brendan.ottemann@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • HIV
  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Neuroinflammation

Pavan Puligujja

Pavan Puligujja
Dr. Howard Gendelman's lab

Masters in Pharmaceutical Sciences
Campbell University, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, North Carolina

pavan.puligujja@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Nanomedicine and Proteomics

Phillip-Purnell-2011

Phillip Purnell
Dr. Howard Fox's lab
MD/PhD student

BS, University of California Santa Cruz
MS, California State University, Sacramento

ppurnell@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Molecular Basis of Disease

Benjamin Reiner

Benjamin Reiner
Dr. Anna Dunaevsky's lab

BS, University of Nebraska, Omaha

bcreiner@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • The synaptic basis of memory and Fragile X Syndrome

Kiran_Sapkota_2012

Kiran Sapkota
Dr. Monaghan's laboratory

M.S., Pharmacology, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

kiran.sapkota@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Immunology
  • Neuropharmacology
  • Neuroinflammation
  • Cell signaling

 Charles_Schutt_2012

Charles Schutt
Dr. Lee Mosley's laboratory

BS, Biology, Drake University, Des Moines, IA
MS, Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

charles.schutt@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Neurodegenerative diseases and disease of protein misfolding such as Parkinson's, Alzheimer's and Prion diseases

Nate_Smith

Nate Smith
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab

BS, Chemistry, University of Wisconsin, Madison

nathana.smith@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Nanomedicine
  • Antiretroviral therapy
  • Metabolomics

Lance Villeneuve

Lance Villeneuve
Dr. Howard Fox's lab 

BS, Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame

lvillene@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Neuronal autophagy

Yi Wang

Yi Wang
Dr. Jialin Zheng's lab

BS, Biological Sciences, Beijing Normal University

yi.wang@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Oxidative stress on neurodevelopment

Yongxiang Wang

Yongxiang Wang
Dr. Jialin Zheng's lab 

Master of Medicine, Shandong University, China

ywan1@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Induced pluripotent stem cells

Ted_Warren_2012

Ted Warren
Dr. Wally Thoreson's lab

BS, Biology, University of Nebraska at Omaha

ted.warren@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Vision
  • Synapse biology

 Xiangyi_Wen

Xiangyi Wen
Bachelor of Clinical Medicine, Tongji University, China

xiangyi.wen@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Regenerative medicine
  • Neurodegenerative diseases
  • Stem cells

 


 
Rebecca_Wilshusen_2012

Rebecca Wilshusen
Dr. Lee Mosley's lab

BS, Biology and Chemistry, University of Nebraska at Omaha

rebecca.wilshusen@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Immunology
  • T-cell mediated death
  • Neuroinflammation

Chris_Woldstad

Chris Woldstad
Dr. Mike Boska's lab

BS, University of Texas, Austin

christopher.woldstad@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • MRS/MRI
  • Bioimaging
  • Metabolomics

Shawna Woollard

Shawna Woollard
Dr. Georgette Kanmogne's lab 

BA, Biology, Capital University, Ohio

swoollar@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Blood-brain barrier in HIV neuropathogensis

Beiqing_Wu

Beiqing Wu
Dr. Jialin Zheng's lab

BM, Jiaotong University, China

beiqing.wu@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Glutaminase in HIV-Associated Dementia

Jianxun Xia

Jianxun Xia
Dr. Huangui Xiong's lab 

MS, Physiology, Nanjing Medical University Nanjing, China, 2004

jxia@unmc.edu

Research Interests:
  • Drug addiction, Parkinson's and Alzheimer's disease and pain, using the in vitro and in vivo methods, along with other molecular and cellular biology methods

Xiaohuan Xia

Xiaohuan Xia
Dr. Iqbal Ahmad's lab

xiahuan.xia@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Influence of miRNAs on retina development 

Enquan_Xu

Enquan Xu

Masters, Peking University Health Science Center

enquan.xu@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Neuroimmunology
  • Neurophysiology
  • Cellular Receptors

Lu Yang

Lu Yang
Dr. Shilpa Buch's lab 

BS, Veterinary Medicine, Jilin University, Changchun, China

Research Interests:

  • Drugs of abuse
  • HIV co-operativity

Li_Yuan

Li Yuan
Dr. Jyothi Arikkath's lab

BS, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, South China Agricultural University, Canton, China
li.yuan@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Signal transduction

Gang Zhang

Gang Zhang
Dr. Howard E. Gendelman's lab 

Dental Medicine Doctor, Xi'an Jiao Tong University, Xi'an, China

gzhang@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • nanozyme
  • neurogenesis
  • macrophages

Wenting_Zhang

Wenting Zhang

BS, Biopharmaceutical Science, China Pharmaceutical University

wenting.zhang@unmc.edu

 Research Interests:

  • Anti-virus drugs
  • Neuroinflammatory diseases
  • Micropharmacology

 Li-Zheng

Li Zheng

Masters Science, Clinical Medicine, Tongji University, China

li.zheng@unmc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Retinal degenerative diseases
  • Neural stem cell therapy

;