News about our department, accomplishments and events


Featured Stories


Phyllis Warkentin receives national award
Dr. Warkentin received the 2014 American Society of Blood and Marrow Transplant (ASBMT) Public Service Award.

Samuel Cohen honored with award
Dr. Cohen's paper was slected as one of the best papers published in 2013 demonstrating application of risk assessment.

Research Assistant takes action 
Employee Mike Arington took initiative to aide a lost patient. Mike's action resulted in the implementation of better signage in front of DRC buildings.

Keer Sun receives NIH grant
Dr. Sun received the National Institutes of Health R01 award for $1.6 million from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for her research of influenza and MRSA co-infection.

The Future of Bioinformatics  
Assistant professor of pathology/microbiology and director of the Public Health Informatics & Path Lab Informatics Dr. Scott Campbell is the perfect example of how bioinformatics is growing in demand.
Streamling the apheresis process
Dr. Scott Koepsell explains how pathologists are excited to be able to facilitate this with One Chart and the American Red Cross.


Events Calendar

Latest Publications

Oyebode Olakanmi; Banurekha Kesavalu; Maher Y. Abdalla; Bradley E. Britigan. Iron acquisition by Mycobacterium tuberculosis residing within myeloid dendritic cells. Microbial Pathogenesis. 2013;65:21-28.


Biswajit Mishra; Raquel F. Epand; Richard M. Epand; Guangshun Wang. Structural location determines functional roles of the basic amino acids of KR-12, the smallest antimicrobial peptide from human cathelicidin LL-37. RSC Advances. 2013;3(42):19560-19571.


Liping Liu; Satoko Kakiuchi-Kiyota; Lora L. Arnold; Sonny L. Johansson; David Wert; Samuel M. Cohen. Pathogenesis of human hemangiosarcomas and hemangiomas. Human Pathology. 2013;44(10):2302-2311.

UNMC Vital Pins
Vital Pins

Department employees who have earned a UNMC Vital Pin in 2013. The program recognizes employees who demonstrate UNMC's brand values of Leadership, Team, Resource and Excellence. The employees listed below received Vital Pins because they earned six Thank 'U' awards for a particular brand value. 

Sharon Auw
Melissa Bradford
Mary Goshinska
Dali Huang
Cindy Hunter
Amy Kerby
Xiao Qiong Liu
Austin Nuxoll
Lisa Roseland
Lijun Sun
Tyler Scherr
Kimberly Tolbert-Jones
Weiwei Zhang 

Tuire Cechin
Debra Headley
Tess Kuenstling
Lijun Sun
Michelle Varney 

Lijun Sun