Gifford-Truhlsen Conference

Each year, the Annual Gifford-Truhlsen Conference is held at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Besides providing a venue for annual presentations by the residents, fellows, and alumni of the department, this conference honors three visiting professors, each designated as either the Gifford, Truhlsen, or Fritch Lecturer, to pay tribute to these men who have contributed so much to UNMC and to the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.

The 2013 conference was held on Thursday, May 23, 2013.  The 2013 Truhlsen lecturer was Julia A. Haller, M.D., Wills Eye Institute, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  The 2013 Gifford lecturer was Napoleone Ferrara, MD, Senior Deputy Director for Basic Sciences, Moores Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego, California. The 2013 Fritch lecturer was David J. Schanzlin, MD, Gordon-Weiss-Schanzlin Vision Institute, San Diego, California. 

The 2014 Gifford-Truhlsen Conference will be held on Friday, June 13, 2014.  Mark your calendars now and plan to attend this annual event. 

If you would like more information, please contact Marlene Novotny at  in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.

2013 Gifford-Truhlsen Conference
    Drs. Quan Nguyen, Tom Hejkal, Stanley Truhlsen, David Schanzlin, and Charles Fritch attend the annual Gifford-Truhlsen conference on May 23, 2013.